Why Didn’t I Print It?!?

You may hear this more than once from me.  And I will continue to say it until it is a movement in this digital world.  If you love that photo enough to keep it in digital form, you will love it even more on your wall.  I am just as guilty as y’all.  I LOVE my iPhone and the ease of taking photos from a camera that fits in my pocket. My full frame camera can’t do that. And it is heavy.  And expensive to replace.  There is a story to go with this, not just admonishment.

Today, an awesome photo popped up in my memories on Facebook.  Let’s step back a moment so you understand why it was awesome to me.  My children (I have 3) attended a K-8 school together. In high school, the 2 oldest attended 3 years together and the middle and youngest attended 2 years together but the the oldest and youngest never did.  The photo was from one brief moment in time that all 3 were at the high school together.

All 3 kids were/are very involved in their high school FFA chapter.  The summer my oldest graduated from high school and the youngest graduated from 8th grade, all 3 were able to show their fair animals as FFA members.  The photo is the 3 wearing the blue and gold jackets together ( a side note: the youngest is wearing his dad’s FFA jacket from high school).  If you are still with me, here is what makes me sad about that photo:  I took it with my phone and posted it to social media.  And I no longer have that phone, iCloud deleted the photo.  The only place it exists in on Facebook.  I want it printed but if you have ever tried to print from FB, you know how horrible the quality can be. Social media files are compressed so they don’t slow down the internet, or something like that.

Print your pictures! Back up your phone and files! Learn from my mistake! We love sharing photos on social media. Heck, Instagram is what it is because of photos.  But don’t forget to print your favorites.  You may never be able to get them back. I’m even having trouble posting a link to it here.  Ugh! I guess you won’t be able to see it.  But here is a photo I DID print of my son’s hog for this year’s fair.

Grass-Valley-CA-Portrait-Photographer-6403

Leave a comment